Retention and Classification Report

Agency: Department of Public Safety. Driver License Division (298)

4315 S 2700 W Ste 2600 Taylorsville, UT 84129 801-965-4783

Records Officer:

30631 Driver license fee receipts01863 Examiner training manuals27306 Medical and visual statement files

Page:

1

3

AGENCY: Department of Public Safety. Driver License Division

 SERIES:
 30631

 TITLE:
 Driver license fee receipts

 DATES:
 2023

 ARRANGEMENT:
 Database, thereunder numerical by driver license number or transaction number.

 DESCRIPTION:
 Description:

These records are maintained as a receipt for the payment of driver license fees. Information may include transaction number, transaction type, driver license number, receipt number, check number, date, fee description and amount, and payment method.

RETENTION:

Retain for 18 year(s)

DISPOSITION:

Destroy.

RETENTION AND DISPOSITION AUTHORIZATION:

Retention and disposition for this series were specifically approved by the Records Management Committee.

APPROVED: 09/2023

FORMAT MANAGEMENT:

Computer data files: Retain in Office for 18 years and then delete.

APPRAISAL:

These records have administrative, and/or legal value(s). These records have legal value based on the usefulness to document and protect the rights and interests of an individual or organization, to demonstrate compliance with laws and regulations, or to meet other legal needs; specifically, Utah Code 53-3-214 (2023).

AGENCY: Department of Public Safety. Driver License Division

SERIES: 30631

TITLE: Driver license fee receipts

(continued)

PRIMARY DESIGNATION:

Private

Utah Code 63G-2-302(1)(n) (2023)

1

AGENCY: Department of Public Safety. Driver License Division

SERIES:1863TITLE:Examiner training manualsDATES:1969-ARRANGEMENT:AlphanumericalDESCRIPTION:

These training manuals are used by individuals studying to be a drivers license examiner.

RETENTION:

Retain permanently

DISPOSITION:

May Transfer to Archives.

RETENTION AND DISPOSITION AUTHORIZATION:

Retention and disposition for this series is proposed and has not yet been approved.

FORMAT MANAGEMENT:

Paper: Retain in State Archives permanently with authority to weed.

PRIMARY DESIGNATION:

Public

Page: 4

1

AGENCY: Department of Public Safety. Driver License Division

 SERIES:
 27306

 TITLE:
 Medical and visual statement files

 DATES:
 1978

 ARRANGEMENT:
 Database, thereunder numerical by driver's license number.

 DESCRIPTION:
 Example of the statement files

This series contains the Functional Ability Evaluation medical forms and the Certificates of Vision sent by health care professionals evaluating their patients' functional ability to drive. All driver license applicants must complete a health questionnaire as part of the licensing process. If significant health problems that have been known to affect driving safety are identified, applicants are required to take the medical and/or visual statement forms to their health care professionals. Based on the completed forms submitted by the driver's health care professional, the Driver License Division may issue a license with or without limitations or deny a license when acceptable medical or vision standards are not met. Information includes names, birth dates, addresses, contact numbers, health conditions, and health care providers' names and places of business.

RETENTION:

Retain for 16 year(s)

DISPOSITION:

Destroy.

RETENTION AND DISPOSITION AUTHORIZATION:

Retention and disposition for this series is proposed and has not yet been approved.

FORMAT MANAGEMENT:

Paper: Retain in Office until imaged and quality checked and then destroy.

Computer data files: Retain in Office for 16 years and then delete.

APPRAISAL:

These records have administrative, and/or legal value(s). These records document the administration and management of the functional ability evaluation program. The records also have legal value as they are required by Utah Code 53-3-303 (2010).

AGENCY: Department of Public Safety. Driver License Division

SERIES:27306TITLE:Medical and visual statement files

(continued)

PRIMARY DESIGNATION:

Private

Utah Code 63G-2-302(1)(b,j) and (2)(d) (2022)